Can some one please explain what is meant by "5 levels lower" with Kineticist Archetype Elemental Purist's Limited Buffer feature?

So far I get that you just get it and it benefits later at level 11. Isn't it?


1 Answer 1


Internal Buffer's benefits scale with your Kineticist level. It starts at 1 point maximum and goes to 2 at level 11, and 3 at level 16.

Limited Buffer's

treats her kineticist level as 5 lower for the purpose of the ability.

line means you subtract 5 from your kineticist level to determine what benefits you get from the Internal Buffer ability. In particular when you get it at level 11 your limit is still 1 point since your level is 11-5=6. You'll get a second point at level 16, and the third point at level 21 (If your game allows for advancement beyond 20th)

  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ This is correct—+1—but Pathfinder does not support any 21st level, so it might be worth putting an asterisk on that. \$\endgroup\$
    – KRyan
    Dec 13, 2019 at 1:35

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .