13
\$\begingroup\$

If I take a feat that gives me a certain origin but I already have a specific racial origin, do they stack or is my racial origin replaced?

Consider this example. Calistar the Eladrin is a fey creature, but he wants to take the Haunting Shade feat.

Haunting Shade

Your origin changes to shadow if it isn't already, so you are considered a shadow creature for all effects related to creature origin.

Is he a shadow creature, or both shadow and fey?

\$\endgroup\$

2 Answers 2

13
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, Calistar now has an Origin of Shadow.

The Rules Compendium p60 defines origin. It doesn't say it explicitly, but the implication is that creatures normally only have one origin, much like they have one level, one race.

The flavor text in Dragon Magazine #387 also strongly favors this interpretation, it says that to take this feat a character needs to give up his soul.

\$\endgroup\$
14
\$\begingroup\$

I would interpret that specific case as "Your origin changes to shadow..." He is a shadow creature, and no longer a fey.

\$\endgroup\$
2
  • \$\begingroup\$ I like both answers! \$\endgroup\$ Sep 28, 2010 at 16:43
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @peterseckler The other one is good but only talks about implications and interpretations. This one is the definitive answer to me. \$\endgroup\$
    – Zachiel
    Jan 14, 2013 at 22:53

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .