2
\$\begingroup\$

The rule I'm used to from previous editions is that a character with a companion such as a familiar must choose whether to use their Move and Action themselves or have their summoned creature use it. From the answer here (What can a familiar actually do?) I'm getting the sense that the familiar has an action of its own. Is this the case?

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ What previous edition did you play? familiars are regular creatures everywhere but 4th edition, as far as I can tell. \$\endgroup\$ – Please stop being evil May 14 '15 at 4:33
  • \$\begingroup\$ 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 3.5 and 4th. No Pathfinder, Basic, Expert or OD&D. I was thinking about this in 4e terms, I believe. \$\endgroup\$ – kevin.matheny May 14 '15 at 13:08
3
\$\begingroup\$

From the Find Familiar entry:

In combat, it rolls its own initiative and acts on its own turn. A familiar can’t attack, but it can take other actions as normal.

A familiar is an independent creature with its own initiative, movement, actions, and so on. So it can take an action, a bonus action, and a reaction. (Assuming it has something to do with them.)

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.