I have found some reference to this online. I would like to confirm it, as I've not see the ruling in books themselves:

The primary arcanum in a legacy from my understanding also turns into the ruling arcanum for the mage who joins the legacy.

Is this true? If so, which book/page is the ruling regarding it located?

Is this an additional perk, beyond the legacy's attainments, that all legacies provide?

  • \$\begingroup\$ This needs an edition tag: either [chronicles-of-darkness-1e] (i.e. nWoD, from White-Wolf) or [chronicles-of-darkness-2e] (i.e. nWoD-2e, CoD, GMC-RU... from Onyx Path). \$\endgroup\$ – Lyndon White Mar 25 '17 at 7:12
  • \$\begingroup\$ I am guessing 1e, as otherwise it should have been using the 2e tag for mage also. \$\endgroup\$ – Lyndon White Mar 25 '17 at 11:35
  • \$\begingroup\$ Yep, this is a 1E question \$\endgroup\$ – Kiraya Mar 26 '17 at 8:25

It is correct.

The rule is found in the Mage the Awakening corebook, page 345, fifth bullet point under "Advantages of Attainments"

Some legacies have attainments that utilise a primary Arcanum other than the parent Path's Ruling Arcanum


The Legacy's primary Arcanum can be learned as if it were a Ruling Arcanum


In addition, the required Mana point normally required for improvised casting is not spent when using that Arcanum

Technically it is not a Ruling arcanum, but I cannot find any advantage a Ruling arcanum gives that this doesn't, so it is effectively a third Ruling Arcanum.

| improve this answer | |
  • \$\begingroup\$ Thank you, I've been looking all over for the ruling on this, appearently it was under "attaiment advantages"... Which is a bit weird since that piece of information isn't really apart of attaiments. \$\endgroup\$ – Kiraya Mar 26 '17 at 8:26
  • \$\begingroup\$ Yeah, it took me a while to find it. It was a rule I had just internalised without noticing. \$\endgroup\$ – Teron Mar 27 '17 at 18:48

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.