7
\$\begingroup\$

Creatures like dragons start with four hit die and those hit die provide them with enough power to classify for several prestige classes. Can such a creature select a prestige class before getting a base class?

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Addressed indirectly in this question, but it seems fine to let this question stand separately. \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Feb 17 '18 at 21:48
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Do you mean "Can a creature use its racial HD, skills and feats to qualify for a prestige class"? \$\endgroup\$ – Mindwin Feb 18 '18 at 0:17
  • \$\begingroup\$ The literal question posed is self-contradictory; obviously, you can't have 1 level in a PrC and 0 levels in classes. I'm assuming Mindwin's got the intent right. \$\endgroup\$ – noneuklid Feb 18 '18 at 3:34
6
\$\begingroup\$

Yes. (It's a long post.)

From the "Improving Monsters" section of the 3.5 rules:

The creature’s Hit Dice equal the number of class levels it has plus its racial Hit Dice. A creature’s "monster class" is always a favored class, and the creature never takes XP penalties for having it.

So in that sense, monsters always have a class -- the "monster class" whose features are defined by their type and HD. This section also says,

If a creature acquires a character class, it follows the rules for multiclass characters.

And those rules say,

A character may add new classes as he or she progresses in level, thus becoming a multiclass character. The class abilities from a character’s different classes combine to determine a multiclass character’s overall abilities.

One more should do it! From the Prestige Classes section:

Prestige classes offer a new form of multiclassing. Unlike the basic classes, characters must meet Requirements before they can take their first level of a prestige class. The rules for level advancement apply to this system, meaning the first step of advancement is always choosing a class. If a character does not meet the Requirements for a prestige class before that first step, that character cannot take the first level of that prestige class.

So breaking all this down, we find that:

  1. Monsters HD are exactly the same thing as "levels in a monster class" for rules related to advancing that monster.
  2. Prestige classes follow the multiclassing rules, except insofar as they have requirements which must be met before a level in the class can be taken.
  3. Taking a class level (in any class, prestige or otherwise) follows the rules for multiclassing as a monster.

So, as long as the monster meets the requirement for the PrC at the time they would choose a new class level, then yes. The rules are 100% explicitly clear.

For additional reference, this answer details the process of gaining a level.

|improve this answer|||||
\$\endgroup\$
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ Prestige classes are also different for XP penalties. Those don’t matter for monsters (and shouldn’t matter for anyone else since no one should use those rules), but your point 2 could be read as saying that the requirements are theonly difference between multicasting base classes and prestige classes. You might want to clarify or reword. +1 either way though. \$\endgroup\$ – KRyan Feb 18 '18 at 4:21

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.