I have a question about how the rules handle holding a two-handed weapon and then drawing and attacking with a one-handed weapon. You are able to drop a weapon (or in the case of a two-handed weapon, let go of it with one of your hands) without expending your free object interaction (according to this clarification). According to the PHB, you can then use your free object interaction to draw a weapon, let's say a Shortsword in this case.
PHB Page 190. You can also interact with one object or feature of the environment for free, during either your move or your action. For example, you could open a door during your move as you stride toward a foe, or you could draw your weapon as part of the same action you use to attack.
The PHB Errata also says that two-handed weapons require two hands to use, but not to simply hold.
PHB Errata. Two-Handed (p. 147). This property is relevant only when you attack with the weapon, not when you simply hold it.
So, my question is, can I perform this sequence of events during my turn?
- Let go of my longbow with one hand without consuming a free object interaction or action, leaving it to be held in one hand.
- With my free hand, draw a shortsword as a free object interaction.
- Use my action to attack with the shortsword.
And if so, in the following round, can I do the following?
- Sheathe the shortsword as part of my free object interaction.
- Use my action to Attack with the bow, now having my other hand free to "use" the weapon as specified by the two-handed property.
This comes up as a result of this question's answer. It seems to be that you can let go of your bow to do something such as cast a spell with somatic gestures using the now-free hand, so I was naturally wondering if you could do other such things with your free hand.