Mirage arcane is a powerful illusion spell that:

includes audible, visual, tactile, and olfactory elements

However, the spell description adds:

Creatures with truesight can see through the illusion to the terrain's true form; however, all other elements of the illusion remain, so while the creature is aware of the illusion's presence, the creature can still physically interact with the illusion.

A creature without truesight cannot move through a wall created by Mirage Arcane without destroying the wall. Can a creature with truesight do so?

It seems like the answer hinges on exactly what work the last "can" in the above quote is doing.


The creature can ignore or interact with the physical parts of the illusion at their choice.

As you say, this really comes down to the meaning of the word "can" here:

the creature can still physically interact with the illusion.

"Can" is not a defined rules word, so it defaults to the idiomatic English meaning of the word: "be able to". Nothing about the word states that they must or must not, just that they are able to. And of course if they are able to do it, they are able to not do it.

Thus, the creature with truesight is able to interact with the illusion, but can choose not to.

Supporting this, Jeremy Crawford has helpfully clarified the meaning of this word in rules context however in this tweet:

In D&D rules, "can" means what it means in English. If you can do something, you're capable of it. You decide whether you do it.

So, can here implies an ability to do something but also a choice.

So, the creature could move through the wall or they could, for example, choose to climb up it (using the appropriate climbing rules of course).


The creature can walk through the wall

I think you've almost answered your own question there. The part of the quote is:

the creature can still physically interact with the illusion.

which implies that it can also not interact with it and walk right through it. This would make sense given that the creature knows that the illusion isn't there.

If the spell was supposed to force creatures with truesight to be restricted by the illusion, it would probably say "must" or something similar rather than "can".


Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.