A halberd does triple damage on a critical hit and double damage when set to receive charge.

What happens when you set to receive charge and you get a critical? Is it double or triple damage?

  • 2
    Did this happen? I mean, in nearly 20 years at this game (including 3.5), I've only ever once had a PC even be in a position to brace for charge… and the monster charged someone else. To critically hit when braced for charge? To me that's like the d20 equivalent of a hole in one. – Hey I Can Chan Nov 21 at 10:08
  • It hasn't happen to me. I know this would be a rare situation but I like using pole arms and was curious if the rules covered it just in case it happened. – huginn Nov 21 at 10:23

Enjoy quadruple damage!

The Glossary on Multiplying says

When you are asked to apply more than one multiplier to a roll, the multipliers are not multiplied by one another. Instead, you combine them into a single multiplier, with each extra multiple adding 1 less than its value to the first multiple. For example, if you are asked to apply a ×2 multiplier twice, the result would be ×3, not ×4.

A halberd's critical hit multiplier is ×3 and it deals ×2 damage when braced for a charge so a critical hit when its braced for a charge deals ×4 damage.

  • 8
    You can also see "×2" as "+100%", "×3" as "+200%", etc. and add the "multipliers". So "×3 ×2" becomes "+200%+100%" which is "+300%" or "×4". – Luris Nov 21 at 10:33

Your Answer

By clicking "Post Your Answer", you acknowledge that you have read our updated terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy, and that your continued use of the website is subject to these policies.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.