3
\$\begingroup\$

Volo's Guide to Monsters contains the stat bloc for an NPC called Transmuter, who is a humanoid, CR 5, with the following trait:

Transmuter's Stone. The transmuter carries a magic stone it crafted that grants its bearer one of the following effects {formatted for ease of reading}:

  1. Darkvision out of a range of 60 feet
  2. An extra 10 feet of speed while the bearer is unencumbered
  3. Proficiency with Constitution saving throws
  4. Resistance to acid, cold, fire, lightning or thunder damage (transmuter's choice whenever the transmuter chooses this benefit)
    If the transmuter has the stone and casts a transmutation spell of 1st level or higher, it can change the effect of the stone.

It is, I believe, possible for a high level caster to "morph" into a Transmuter statblock, either by True Polymorping into it directly, True Polymorphing into a creature that can then Change Shape into it (such as an Ancient Metallic Dragon), or by Shapechanging into it.

My question is: if you "morph" into an NPC Transmuter, do you gain access to its Transmuter's Stone?

\$\endgroup\$
  • 5
    \$\begingroup\$ Related: Does true polymorph form a creature with equipment? \$\endgroup\$ – Sdjz Jul 31 '19 at 14:34
  • \$\begingroup\$ A Transmuter is a subclass of Wizard, isn't it? \$\endgroup\$ – Verdan Jul 31 '19 at 14:38
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Verdan Yes ("Transmutation Wizard"), but also a monster statblock ("Transmuter"). \$\endgroup\$ – Gael L Jul 31 '19 at 14:42
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ @GaelL is there any reason you think that this Q is any different from the general case outlined in the related link above? If so, you should make that aspect clearer because, to me, this reads a lot like a duplicate currently. Is it the difference between "equipment" and this ambiguous trait that might be equipment? \$\endgroup\$ – Rubiksmoose Jul 31 '19 at 14:47