6
\$\begingroup\$

I'd like to know if I can use the Heat Metal spell in the Baldur's Gate: Descent into Avernus module and target an Infernal War Machine.

And more specifically, what happens about this part of the spell:

If a creature is holding or wearing the object and takes the damage from it, the creature must succeed on a Constitution saving throw or drop the object if it can.

What happens to the passengers?

Can the pilot continue to pilot?

\$\endgroup\$
4
\$\begingroup\$

I'd say no

There are three reasons why this shouldn't work:

  • restrictions from the spell text, although they are pretty ambiguous
  • the intention behind the spell (what is it meant to be)
  • possible balance issues if a DM allows it

The Heat Metal spell description says:

Choose a manufactured metal object, such as a metal weapon or a suit of heavy or medium metal armor

If a creature is holding or wearing the object...

So it is not "any" object, but specifically an object "such as a metal weapon or a suit of heavy or medium metal armor", a thing that it supposed to or at least can be held or carried.

When adjudicating corner cases game designers suggest taking a couple of things in consideration: the description text itself, the common sense, the intention behind the spell:

"An illusory object made by minor illusion is meant to be like a stool or a rock, not an atmospheric effect."Sage Advice Compendium, page 16.

The intention behind the Heat Metal spell is heating relatively small objects like weapons and armor, not ships, infernal war machines, giant metal fortresses, etc. If a DM allows heating vehicles, a mere 2 level spell becomes an effective anti-materiel weapon, which probably makes this spell a no-brainer (and no-brainers are bad design).

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ I'd say you say you are reading to much into the examples, is says a manufactured metal object, A door or a wagon is also objects. Otherwise you could argue I can't cast it on a pocket watch nor a length of chain becasue they are not weapons nor armor. \$\endgroup\$ – John Mar 25 at 22:51
  • \$\begingroup\$ I'd like to downvote this answer for citing JC, but this one time I upvoted it instead because outside of that glaring flaw, it goes exactly into the issue, I'd still just much rather see you cite SAC p. 12 (control+f search for "door") or something similar. \$\endgroup\$ – Akixkisu Mar 25 at 23:43
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Akixkisu JC is the author of the SAC, isn't he? dnd.wizards.com/articles/sage-advice/sage-advice-compendium \$\endgroup\$ – enkryptor Mar 26 at 9:01
  • \$\begingroup\$ @enkryptor: Indeed he is. Crawford's tweets are no longer considered official rulings, but the SAC remains the one source of official rulings now. \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Mar 26 at 9:37
  • \$\begingroup\$ @V2Blast how is it relevant? I was asking Akixkisu why (s)he would downvote for "citing JC", but suggests to cite SAC despite the author is the same. \$\endgroup\$ – enkryptor Mar 26 at 11:51
1
\$\begingroup\$

This shouldn't work

The spell reads:

Choose a manufactured metal object, such as a metal weapon or a suit of heavy or medium metal armor. If a creature is holding or wearing the object, etc.

Is the Infernal War Machine a manufactured metal object? Possibly, it depends on your definition. I'd go with 'no'. but even if you decide yes, read on.

Is somebody holding or wearing it? No.

A DM is free to change the spell to make 'being inside something' count as 'holding something', but this is opening the floodgates for weird gimmicky uses of the spell that weren't intended, like "I'll cast Heat Metal on the cage to damage everybody inside it".

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$
0
\$\begingroup\$

By raw Yes or No

By the description on page 216 of BG-DiA, An infernal war-machine is "manufactured" and "made of iron". Thus it is a manufactured metal object, thus a valid target.

However it also states that "An infernal war machines statistics function like those of a creature", meaning you could argue they count as creatures. So there is some DM discretion on whether or not to treat it like a creature. So ask your DM if they are treating it like a creature it is a valid target for creature targeting spells If they are not then it can be targeted by heat metal.

This could be argued both ways. It says, "like those of a creature", which would imply treat like a creature. But at the same time, function like a creature, would imply it is not a creature and it should be treated more like a wielded magic item.

Personally I would lean toward treating them as creatures, there is a balance aspect, many spells cannot target objects, limiting how you can fight one.

If treating it as a creature it cannot be a target for heat metal.

Now assuming your DM says they are treating it as an object, then some of your other questions can be answered.

Note that nowhere in the spell does it say the object takes damage so the vehicle itself will not be damaged if it is a object.

Can they continue to pilot it:

Well you can continue to holding a sword it has been cast on if you succeed your save, so you should be able to keep piloting if you make your save, you will just take damage every round. I would also argue that much like armor you keep taking damage is you stay inside it, so internal passengers would flee or take damage. External passengers can simply let go like a weapon of shield. But this gets into the gray area of what happen when you cast it on an iron ladder someone is climbing or on an iron cage with a prisoner? The spell leaves a lot up to the DM.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$
0
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, BUT Selectively

If you can target someones weapon in their hand, you could probably target a steering wheel on a War Engine.

Some war engines have a few weapons on then, each requiring a operator, so treating each weapon as a separate target for the purpose of the spell would make sense.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.