5
\$\begingroup\$

My sorcerer has 4 CL 3 scrolls of Fireball. I know that he cannot use them before deciphering them and this can be done in advance.

Can he decipher all of them before a battle? How long before he would need to decipher them again?

\$\endgroup\$
1

1 Answer 1

11
\$\begingroup\$

First off, CL 3 scroll of fireball is a very strange occurence, since the scroll can not be written at a caster level lower than a minimum required to cast a spell in question, which is CL 5 for a 3rd level sor/wiz spell.

Second, deciphering the scroll is a full-round action which can very well be done in advance.

Decipher the Writing: The writing on a scroll must be deciphered before a character can use it or know exactly what spell it contains. This requires a read magic spell or a successful Spellcraft check (DC 20 + spell level). Deciphering a scroll is a full-round action.

Third, you only ever need to decipher a given scroll once:

A character can decipher the writing on a scroll in advance so that she can proceed directly to the next step when the time comes to use the scroll.

\$\endgroup\$
4
  • \$\begingroup\$ I understand that level 5 (wiz) or 6 (sorcerer) is required to craft, but the crafter can choose make the scroll at the minimum CL of the spell, correct? \$\endgroup\$ Nov 27, 2014 at 12:15
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @DavidWilkins correct, but the minimum caster level for a fireball (3rd level spell) is 5. You may want to visit the links, they say exactly that. \$\endgroup\$ Nov 27, 2014 at 12:17
  • \$\begingroup\$ Interesting. Thanks for clarifying even though it wasn't part of the original question. :) \$\endgroup\$ Nov 27, 2014 at 12:19
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ Also - just because it was explicitly called out in the title of the question - there is no limit to the number of scrolls a character can decipher. Well, presumably they'll die of old age or run out of scrolls at some point, but they can keep on increasing the number deciphered until that point. \$\endgroup\$
    – GMJoe
    Nov 28, 2014 at 3:41

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .