15
\$\begingroup\$

Basically, am I able to sneak up to a target that has darkvision as if I were invisible? I believe I can for the following reasons (but would like confirmation).

The description of the Skulker feat (PHB, p. 170) says:

You are expert at slinking through shadows. You gain the following benefits:

  • You can try to hide when you are lightly obscured from the creature from which you are hiding.

  • When you are hidden from a creature and miss it with a ranged weapon attack, making the attack doesn't reveal your position.

  • Dim light doesn’t impose disadvantage on your Wisdom (Perception) checks relying on sight.

The rules on vision and light (PHB, p. 183) state:

In a lightly obscured area, such as dim light, patchy fog, or moderate foliage, creatures have disadvantage on Wisdom (Perception) checks that rely on sight.

[...]

Dim light, also called shadows, creates a lightly obscured area. An area of dim light is usually a boundary between a source of bright light, such as a torch, and surrounding darkness. The soft light of twilight and dawn also counts as dim light. A particularly brilliant full moon might bathe the land in dim light.

The description of darkvision (PHB, p. 183-184) states:

Many creatures in the worlds of D&D, especially those that dwell underground, have darkvision. Within a specified range, a creature with darkvision can see in darkness as if the darkness were dim light, so areas of darkness are only lightly obscured as far as that creature is concerned. However, the creature can’t discern color in darkness, only shades of gray.

As a rogue with the Skulker feat (and darkvision), can I hide in the cover of darkness (with no other cover)?

Please provide any additional RAW that would confirm or prevent this from working.

\$\endgroup\$
27
\$\begingroup\$

You are correct. If you were in total darkness, that would be equivalent to Dim Light/Lightly Obscured to a creature with Dark Vision. However, you would still have to make a stealth check to hide, as the wording is "You can try to hide..." (bold added for emphasis).

Hiding (PHB p. 177)

"When you try to hide, you make a Dexterity (Stealth) check...."

\$\endgroup\$
0
\$\begingroup\$

You will have to make a stealth check, but against a perception check with disadvantage for someone without darkvision. If you add your expertise to stealth, combined with high dex, this is a sure success.

\$\endgroup\$

We're looking for long answers that provide some explanation and context. Don't just give a one-line answer; explain why your answer is right, ideally with citations. Answers that don't include explanations may be removed.

  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Could you add citations or an explanation of your reasoning to back up this approach? \$\endgroup\$ – doppelgreener Aug 17 '18 at 15:36

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.