20
\$\begingroup\$

The rules for truesight state:

A creature with truesight can (..) perceive the original form of a shapechanger or a creature that is transformed by magic

A druid player argued that since the druid is still a "humanoid" (not a "shapechanger"), and since wild shape is not a spell, a creature with truesight should not see through it.

As the DM, I ruled against it because I believed the intent of truesight is to see through all kinds of shapechanging effects but I was still left wondering if I missed anything. I couldn't find anything about this in the errata either.

So, going by strict RAW, should a creature with truesight be able to see the druid's true form while a druid is using wild shape?

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ The druid is a beast while transformed, not a humanoid. Also, "shapechanger" is a tag, not a creature type - Lycanthropes are humanoid shapechangers! Neither point is relevant here but they'll probably come up at some point if one of your players is a Druid. \$\endgroup\$ – Doval Mar 9 '17 at 17:17
31
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, truesight will see through Wild Shape. As you mentioned in the question, truesight can perceive the original form of a creature transformed by magic. And the first line of Wild Shape says that:

Starting at 2nd level, you can use your action to magically assume the shape of a beast that you have seen before.

So Wild Shape is a magical transformation, and can therefore be seen through by truesight.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ I'm slightly more confused now. How is this compatible with my link that says dispel magic can't target wild shape when dispel magic also states "magical effect" as a target? \$\endgroup\$ – Sdjz Mar 9 '17 at 13:59
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ @Sdjz Because dispel magic only ends spells. Crawford wrote a lot about this: sageadvice.eu/2016/06/21/… \$\endgroup\$ – Miniman Mar 9 '17 at 14:01
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Sdjz Dispel magic specifically says that it ends a spell. \$\endgroup\$ – kviiri Mar 9 '17 at 14:01
  • \$\begingroup\$ This might be stretching the scope of this question a bit but if I understand correctly then you are saying that you can target a druid wild shape with dispel magic because it is a "magical effect" but nothing will happen because it is not a "spell"? \$\endgroup\$ – Sdjz Mar 9 '17 at 14:04
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Sdjz Of course you can target the druid - acceptable targets are creatures, objects and magical effects, and the druid is certainly a creature. \$\endgroup\$ – kviiri Mar 9 '17 at 14:10

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.