27
\$\begingroup\$

When you want to grab a creature or wrestle with it, you can use the Attack action to make a special melee attack, a grapple. If you're able to make multiple attacks with the Attack action, this attack replaces one of them.

Does this mean a character with the Extra Attack feature can replace both attacks granted by their Attack action with grapples, or can only replace one of them?

\$\endgroup\$
33
\$\begingroup\$

The quoted section refers to the fact that one grapple attempt uses up only one attack and not a whole Attack Action.

Thus multiple attempts to grapple can be made in a turn if you have Extra Attacks.

This is also supported by Jeremy Crawford, who says:

If you take the Attack action and have multiple attacks, you can replace any of them with a grapple/shove.

(Thanks to Doval, who found this tweet.)

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.