Can a humanoid druid wild shape and then have enlarge person cast on them and become a larger form of what they are wild shaped as?

Enlarge person is a transmutation effect and not polymorph like wild shape.

So, would the two effects work together?


1 Answer 1



Enlarge person has no effect on a wild shaped druid. The transmutation (polymorph) rules say a polymorphed creature does not benefit from size-altering spells. Wild shape is a polymorph effect due to functioning like beast shape I and other polymorph spells. Thus, a size-altering spell like enlarge person has no effect with wild shape.

You can only be affected by one polymorph spell at a time. If a new polymorph spell is cast on you (or you activate a polymorph effect, such as wild shape), you can decide whether or not to allow it to affect you, taking the place of the old spell. In addition, other spells that change your size have no effect on you while you are under the effects of a polymorph spell.

  • \$\begingroup\$ A good point. I have modified the answer to point out that wild shape is a polymorph effect. \$\endgroup\$
    – Cyrad
    Oct 22, 2017 at 15:29
  • \$\begingroup\$ I had missed that line buried inside the polymorph rules, thanks \$\endgroup\$
    – Fering
    Oct 22, 2017 at 16:18
  • \$\begingroup\$ Yeah great callout. I expected the answer to be some convoluted thing about keeping/changing type/subtype. this is way more straight forward. \$\endgroup\$
    – Ifusaso
    Oct 22, 2017 at 17:37
  • \$\begingroup\$ It should in theory still apply to the alternate class features of totem transformations. They just gain aspects of the animal, and don't actually polymorph. An enlarged bear shaman isn't something to mess around with. \$\endgroup\$ Jun 13, 2018 at 2:37
  • \$\begingroup\$ In addition, the wildshaped druid doesn't register as a "person" in the sense of spell targeting anymore, as by design of polymorph-type spells and effects. So spells like "hold person" would fail on a wildshaped druid as well. \$\endgroup\$
    – Anonymous
    Jun 13, 2018 at 5:37

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .