6
\$\begingroup\$

The Battle Aspect utility power reads as follows (PHB3 pag 50):

Battle Aspect Battlemind Utility 10

Daily ✦ Polymorph, Psionic, Teleportation

Minor Action Personal

Effect: Until the end of the encounter, you gain resist 5 to all damage and can teleport 3 squares as a move action.

The Cloak of Translocation (AV2 pag 66) reads as follows:

Cloak of Translocation Level 9+

Item Slot: Neck

Enhancement: Fortitude, Reflex, and Will

Property: When you use a teleportation power, you gain a +2 bonus to AC and Reflex until the end of your next turn.

Power (Daily): Minor Action. You regain the use of an encounter teleportation power that you have already used during this encounter.

My question is twofold:

  • Does activating battle aspect trigger the cloak's property? My guess is yes, since I am using a teleportation power (the keyword is there).
  • Does using a move action to teleport 3 squares trigger the cloak's property? My guess would be no, because I already "used" the teleportation power, but I'm not entirely sure.
\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ I updated fhe formatting for your question. Let me know if I broke anything :) Welcome to the site! \$\endgroup\$ – Erik Oct 24 '17 at 10:46
  • \$\begingroup\$ All good thanks :D couldn't figure out how to get it done on mobile... \$\endgroup\$ – Alberto Oct 24 '17 at 11:09
2
\$\begingroup\$

You can use the cloak's property when you first use Battle Aspect since it is a teleportation power by virtue of having the Teleportation keyword. Using the effect is not “using” the power. You're just engaging a convenient effect you acquired.

Whatever is described in an “Effect” entry simply happens, regardless of its position in the sequence of entries. (Rules Compendium page 96, emphasis mine)

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.