3
\$\begingroup\$

The Empower Spell feat reads:

All variable, numeric effects of an empowered spell are increased by one-half. An empowered spell deals half again as much damage as normal, cures half again as many hit points, affects half again as many targets, and so forth, as appropriate. PHB, p. 93

Does this also apply to the dispel check of Dispel Magic?

dispel check (1d20 + your caster level, maximum +10), PHB, p. 223

And if, does this raise the ceiling of maximum +10 for the caster level?

\$\endgroup\$
5
\$\begingroup\$

No

The feat Empower Spell (Player's Handbook 93), in part, says

Saving throws and opposed rolls (such as the one you make when you cast dispel magic) are not affected, nor are spells without random variables.

This example is absent from the SRD's feat's benefit.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Now, that is a bit embarrassing. I think I delete the question. \$\endgroup\$ – Giorin Jul 9 '18 at 14:53
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Giorin Don't worry about it. I had a longtime player—who's been playing since 3e's release—call me once to ask the same question. I said, "Read the feat." He said, "I did and…." I said, "No, really, you think you know the feat; now actually read it." There was a pause and then he said, "O. Never mind." In other words, it's a really easy detail to overlook. :-) (Also, from time to time, we all publicly ask obvious questions.) \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Jul 9 '18 at 14:59

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.