16
\$\begingroup\$

In an adventure I am playing, I play a barbarian 1 / sorcerer 1, and I am in a dispute with my DM. My DM says that if I cast False Life on myself, then Rage, the spell's effect will not remain.

Page 48 of the Player's Handbook says, under the description of the Rage feature:

If you are able to cast spells, you can't cast them or concentrate on them while raging.

Because of this rule, am I able to keep the effects I cast on myself?

\$\endgroup\$
35
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, because False Life does not require concentration.

The false life spell has a duration of 1 hour, and doesn't require concentration.

Because it requires no concentration, if you cast it before raging and your rage occurs within its one-hour duration, the spell will still be in effect.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking "Post Your Answer", you acknowledge that you have read our updated terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy, and that your continued use of the website is subject to these policies.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.