4
\$\begingroup\$

The Numenera focus Carries a Quiver grants an enabler called Trained Archer, which says (core rulebook, pg.54):

You are trained in using bows.

What does this apply to? The normal usage of a bow is an attack, but the phrasing here suggests a non-attack task. Am I missing something?

\$\endgroup\$

1 Answer 1

4
\$\begingroup\$

This applies to attacks with bows

You've not missed anything. In Numenera, making an attack is considered a task just like any other, and being trained in a skill - in this case, using a bow - might reduce the difficulty of the attack. As on pg.91, emphasis mine:

In the simplest kind of attack, [...] the player rolls and compares his result against the opponent's target number. [...] Just as with any kind of task, the GM might modify the difficulty based on the situation, and the player might have a bonus to the roll or might try to lower the difficulty using skills, assets, or effort.

There's no reason to believe this is meant to refer to some non-attack way of using a bow; the rules explicitly call out that skills can be applicable to attacks, and that's the natural reading of being skilled at using a bow.

\$\endgroup\$

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .