1
\$\begingroup\$

So, I have this Armorer artificer Echo knight who is a ranged attacker. Opportunity Attacks only work with melee attacks. In case an opportunity attack is presented, can I just hold the rifle with one hand as a Free object interaction, and use the Thunder Gauntlet provided by the guardian armor to do a melee attack for the opportunity attack?

The gauntlet's rules say:

"Thunder Gauntlets. Each of the armor’s gauntlets counts as a simple melee weapon while you aren’t holding anything in it, and it deals 1d8 thunder damage on a hit. A creature hit by the gauntlet has disadvantage on attack rolls against targets other than you until the start of your next turn, as the armor magically emits a distracting pulse when the creature attacks someone else".

So, if I released one hand, would they immediately count as a melee weapon, allowing me to make the Opportunity Attack?

\$\endgroup\$
2
  • \$\begingroup\$ Hi, and welcome to the stack. I closed your question as a duplicate, because there is a very similar one, and the same logic should apply to your question. That is not a bad thing, and it should answer your question (hint: yes, you can). Let us know if that somehow does not solve your problem. You might also want to take the tour if you haven't already, and check out the help center center for additional help. \$\endgroup\$ Oct 14, 2023 at 17:27
  • \$\begingroup\$ Cool, thank you! \$\endgroup\$
    – chinoscut
    Oct 14, 2023 at 21:39

0

Browse other questions tagged .