2
\$\begingroup\$

Shield description says "Attacks made with a shield suffer a -20 penalty" Shields also have "defensive" quality, which increases +15 to parry but attacks made by such weapons suffer -10 penalty.

Do the penalties stack?

\$\endgroup\$
3
\$\begingroup\$

This is a ongoing debate, and one that each GM must decide.

According to rules as written yes, they stack. According to rules as intended they do not...

\$\endgroup\$
3
  • \$\begingroup\$ What's RAW and RaI? Also, shields are the ONLY weapons with the "defensive" quality, am I right? That makes the penalties even weirder. If shields are not the only "defensive" weapons I'd say the penalties stack. \$\endgroup\$ – Golokopitenko Oct 10 '14 at 8:26
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ RAW = Rules as written, RAI = Rules as intended. \$\endgroup\$ – Nils Munch Oct 10 '14 at 9:02
  • \$\begingroup\$ If wearing armor, I would prefer to be slashed 3 times with a sword across the face rather than being hit one time with a shield. \$\endgroup\$ – Vorac Aug 3 '20 at 15:17

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.