11
\$\begingroup\$

The rules for Bonus Actions state;

(PHB pg.189)
You can take only one bonus action on your turn...

Which to me can be read in two ways.
1. You can only take a bonus action if it is your turn.
2. You can take only one bonus action on your turn but can take one or more on someone else's turn.

As an example, if I were to ready an attack action could I also use a bonus action for Two-Weapon Fighting when the trigger is met?

\$\endgroup\$
11
\$\begingroup\$

Round and Turn are not synonyms.

From Player's Basic Rules, page 69, or the Player's Handbook, page 189 (bolding added for emphasis):

A round represents about 6 seconds in the game world. During a round, each participant in a battle takes a turn.

"On your turn" thus specifically excludes other characters' turns.

In the sections on Actions and Bonus Actions, it defines when each is allowed.

On your turn, you can move a distance up to your speed and take one action.

[…]

Various class features, spells, and other abilities let you take an additional action on your turn called a bonus action.

Then, in the section on the ready action (PBR 72, PHB 193)...

To be readied, a spell must have a casting time of 1 action, and holding onto the spell’s magic requires concentration (explained in chapter 10).

A casting time of "1 bonus action" is not the same as "1 Action". In fact, the general casting time is 1 action; a bonus action is specifically called out as different under "Casting Time" on PBR 79 and PHB 202...

Bonus Action

A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. You must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell, provided that you haven’t already taken a bonus action this turn.

So, in looking at the letter of the rules, it's clear that you can't use a bonus action spell outside your turn, and further, it's explicit that your turn ends when someone else begins their turn.

\$\endgroup\$
10
\$\begingroup\$

From the Player's Basic Rules, page 69:

Various class features, spells, and other abilities let you take an additional action on your turn called a bonus action.

So bonus actions are meant to be used on your turn. The Ready action talks about preparing an action to be used for your reaction, which should mean 1 action and not allow bonus actions. For further proof, we have on page 72:

To be readied, a spell must have a casting time of 1 action

This explicitly disallows spells with a casting time of one bonus action, which confirms to me that you cannot ready a bonus action.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ This pre-empts a question I was going to ask: does it really disallow spells that can be cast as a bonus action, or does it just mean you "waste" an action on them? \$\endgroup\$ – detly Jan 2 '15 at 11:55
  • 5
    \$\begingroup\$ @detly There's no sense of bonus actions being worth "less" than regular actions - you can't use an action to perform a bonus action under any circumstances. \$\endgroup\$ – Miniman Jan 2 '15 at 12:29

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.