7
\$\begingroup\$

Normally, when using Bull Rush you provoke an attack of opportunity from your target. Hammer to the Ground lets you make a Trip combat manuver after a successful Bull Rush. Will that trip also provoke? What if you take the option to attempt the trip without moving with your opponent? You take the -5 to trip, but does the enemy still get an attack of opportunity?

\$\endgroup\$
5
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, both the bull rush and the trip attempt, unless you have improved bull rush and/or improved trip, will provoke attacks of opportunity. The general rule of provoking always applies, unless there is a specific exception. Since Hammer to the Ground doesn't make a specific exception, it is safe to assume the general rule about combat maneuvers provoking attacks of opportunity still applies.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.