4
\$\begingroup\$

The Saber-Toothed Tiger's Pounce feature is as follows:

Pounce. If the tiger moves at least 20 feet straight toward a creature and then hits it with a claw attack on the same turn, that target must succeed on a DC 14 Strength saving throw or be knocked prone. If the target is prone, the tiger can make one bite attack against it as a bonus action.

Based on the order in which the text is written, is it possible for the Tiger to move 20ft, make a claw attack (knocking the target prone), and then use its bonus action to bite its newly-prone victim?

\$\endgroup\$
13
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, for two reasons:

  1. The last sentence is part of the description of the Pounce ability, implying it's an elaboration of what happens if the target fails the saving throw from the initial attack. That's most of the point of the Pounce ability; it's intentionally worded differently from the Mastiff's attack ability.

  2. Even if that weren't the case and the last sentence stood alone, the requirements are still met:

    If [a] target is prone, the tiger can take a bonus action to make one bite attack against it.

    The target is prone, so you get a bonus attack.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.