The boots of landing (Expanded Psionics Handbook 172) (1,000 gp; 1 lb.) say

While wearing boots of landing, you land on your feet no matter how far you fall, and you take 2 fewer dice of damage from the fall than normal (thus, a fall of 20 feet or less deals you no damage).

Is a creature wearing the boots still vulnerable to being tripped?

  • \$\begingroup\$ Argh! "These boots allow the wearer to recover instantly from a fall and can absorb some damage from falling once per day." A thousand gp for that? Seriously? \$\endgroup\$ Commented May 28, 2018 at 3:45

2 Answers 2



Oddly enough, a trip attack is a special attack which inflicts the "prone" status. It does not count as falling. It is in fact possible to trip without your feet leaving the ground during your entire trip. (pun intended.)

This is a case where combat has been generalized and does not match real world physics.

Furthermore as specified in the Environment section: Falling from the SRD , a character is only considered "falling" if said character traverses 10' or more vertically (ie: towards gravity, and typically in an uncontrolled fashion).

  • \$\begingroup\$ Something something tripping flying creatures something something. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Jan 4, 2017 at 17:52
  • \$\begingroup\$ @HeyICanChan Nobody said you couldn't be prone in midair. ^^ Beside, a trip attack in mid-air would have to target the wings... \$\endgroup\$
    – nijineko
    Commented Jan 4, 2017 at 17:52
  • \$\begingroup\$ That section on falling says nothing like "considered "falling" if said character traverses 10' or more". What it does say is that you have to fall 10' or more to be at risk of taking damage. The first sentence of the following section, Falling Objects states "when they fall more than 10 feet", implying you can fall less than 10 feet. \$\endgroup\$
    – Wyrmwood
    Commented Jan 4, 2017 at 18:29
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @Wyrmwood Although, to be honest, the bit about falling less than 10' is actually moot, (though I take your point) as the trip attack does not depend upon a falling effect or status in order to work, instead it is a special attack that inflicts a special status. \$\endgroup\$
    – nijineko
    Commented Jan 4, 2017 at 19:00
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ The commentary on falling is partly in response to tripping flying creatures and partly towards your comments. D&D rules define falling as taking damage after moving 10' and hitting the ground. The falling condition only exists after you've moved 10' or more. It says literally nothing about less than 10'. It is left undefined. Thus my character could step off a 9' roof, hit the ground (taking no damage) and not be considered falling at any point in time, per the rules. This addresses the in-between cases of someone being swept off their feet and thus "falling". Humor is the spice of life. \$\endgroup\$
    – nijineko
    Commented Jan 4, 2017 at 23:18

A character wearing boots of landing is still vulnerable to being tripped.

The boots only protect you from falling and prevent you from going prone when you fall. They do not make you immune to the prone condition.


You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .