In D&D 5e, there are a few items that can absorb spells cast by another wizard. I know of at least two: the Staff of the Archmagi and the Rod of Absorption.

If I'm about to cast a spell and an enemy wizard casts counterspell to negate my spell, can I use my spell-absorbing item to negate their counterspell?


2 Answers 2



The text of those items says that they can only absorb spells that target you and only you: (DMG 195)

While holding this rod, you can use your reaction to absorb a spell that is targeting only you and not with an area of effect.

The text of counterspell states that its target is a single creature that is casting a spell:

You attempt to interrupt a creature in the process of Casting a Spell.

Therefore, it fulfills those criteria and can be absorbed.

  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ There are certain schools of thought which argue that Counterspell has NO target, in which case this wouldn't work. But I agree with you. \$\endgroup\$
    – GreySage
    May 12, 2017 at 22:34
  • \$\begingroup\$ Looks good, I thought that would be the case. Thanks! \$\endgroup\$
    – Rob Rose
    May 13, 2017 at 1:58

If i(z) am about to cast a spell (desintagrate), and there is 2 enemy wizards(X and Y),the X wizard cast a counterspells to negate my spell, I absorb that spells with my rod of absorbtion, but the second wizard (Y) can still counterspells Desintegrate??..

  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ As it’s currently written, your answer is unclear. Please edit to add additional details that will help others understand how this addresses the question asked. You can find more information on how to write good answers in the help center. \$\endgroup\$
    – Community Bot
    Jul 22, 2023 at 20:54
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ Your answer reads more as a new question. If you have a new question, and cannot find that it has been asked before, instead ask a new question. Answers are for answering, not asking. Welcome to our site, and please take the tour if you have a minute. \$\endgroup\$ Jul 22, 2023 at 20:59
  • \$\begingroup\$ If you have a new question, please ask it by clicking the Ask Question button. Include a link to this question if it helps provide context. - From Review \$\endgroup\$
    – Journer
    Jul 22, 2023 at 23:23

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .