2
\$\begingroup\$

If I age myself with the bestow curse spell (Book of Vile Darkness, alternative curses) to have the attribute adjustments, subsequently gain the benefit of "immunity to aging attacks and doesn't suffer the effects of old age (Any penalties already incurred stay in effect)" and then walk through an Antimagic Field and out the other side, will I gain the age bonuses while ignoring the penalties?

For clarification the immunity to aging benefit comes from a supernatural ability, so it would also be suppressed in the Antimagic Field.

Thank you for helping me!

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Aging is listed as an alternative curse in Book of Vile Darkness so I'm pretty sure he'll be okay with that. \$\endgroup\$ – Cellheim Aug 30 '17 at 5:55
3
\$\begingroup\$

When walking in

Well, if the curse is suppressed (by being in antimagic in this case), you become young again. Thus you wouldn't have the age penalties or bonuses.

If you were to be actually old, any magical ability to get rid aging penalties would also be suppressed. So that supernatural ability that grants immunity to aging would not work in antimagic anyway.

When walking out again

The moment you leave, both effects will start working again. Thus you'd be old again due to the curse, and you'd ignore the penalties due to the immunity to aging. This is assuming the duration of those effects hasn't expired (and I'm assuming that they're both permanent, so this shouldn't be a problem). Just like they would work if you never entered the antimagic field.

Antimagic field:

An antimagic field suppresses any spell or magical effect used within, brought into, or cast into the area, but does not dispel it. Time spent within an antimagic field counts against the suppressed spell’s duration.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ I'm asking what happens after you leave the antimagic field. Do you regain the age categories while simultaneously having immunity from the penalties? \$\endgroup\$ – Cellheim Aug 30 '17 at 6:36
  • \$\begingroup\$ I misunderstood the question, updated it \$\endgroup\$ – Snappie Aug 30 '17 at 6:51
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Well the curse and immunity come back at exactly the same time (the moment you step out of the antimagic field). I'd say that therefor the immunity applies to the aging. I don't have RAW on that, in fact I don't think the rules cover that very specific scenario (I hope I get corrected on this). So it would be a gm call \$\endgroup\$ – Snappie Aug 30 '17 at 7:18
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ @Snappie Agree. Though, if we did split hairs with our rules-lawyering, and if we agreed that the two effects returned at the exact same time, then one could easily argue that "already incurred" does not apply anymore since that would require the penalty to apply before, where now they are applying at the exact same time, so the penalty did not come "before" this time. So, even if I rules-lawyered, I would rule in OP's favor. However, I would prefer to go with rule of cool on this one: if the players figure out a cool and clever way to do something, let it be so. Let there be fun. \$\endgroup\$ – Aaron Aug 31 '17 at 16:49
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Does it make any difference that the alternative curse from the Book of Vile Darkness only effectively — as opposed to actually — ages the creature? \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Sep 1 '17 at 2:53

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.