9
\$\begingroup\$

While it seems to be no real difference between those action types, for this action, there really is. If that is considered a free action, i can only do it during my own turn, otherwise i can drop concentration outside my turn, do as a part of another action or just do it no matter what circumstance i'm in.

\$\endgroup\$
12
\$\begingroup\$

"Cease concentration on a spell" is listed as a free action in the Actions in Combat table. As you're aware, this means that you can only do it on your turn.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ You are right. I didn't see it there. (I guess there's a workaround for that, but that's another thing). \$\endgroup\$ – cablop Dec 19 '17 at 23:55
  • \$\begingroup\$ It may be worth noting that some free actions are allowed off of your turn, and a GM could easily allow this to do the same if it helps the narrative/makes more sense. \$\endgroup\$ – Ifusaso Dec 20 '17 at 5:31
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Ifusaso Isn't that only true for talking? \$\endgroup\$ – Miniman Dec 20 '17 at 5:33
  • \$\begingroup\$ "Attack of Opportunity Basic Free action" They're definitely a minority, but others exist. \$\endgroup\$ – Ifusaso Dec 20 '17 at 13:41

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.