Our DM is using the Hero Points optional rule where I can spend one point to make an additional attack. My Ninja can spend one from his Ki Pool to make an additional attack. At level one I took the Two Weapon Fighting feat. Can I combine all three sources to make four attacks at level one? How many would be at -2 given that both weapons are Wakisashi?

  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @V2Blast This isn’t really about the Two-Weapon Fighting feat—note you can use the two-weapon fighting combat option without the feat, and it has the same effects and the penalties apply in the same places, they’re just bigger. Personally I don’t really think [feats] fits. \$\endgroup\$ – KRyan Oct 1 '18 at 23:27
  • \$\begingroup\$ @KRyan: Fair enough! Feel free to revert my edit if you feel the tag is inappropriate. \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Oct 1 '18 at 23:39

The official hero points optional rule does not actually have an option for an extra attack—instead, a hero point may be expended for an entire extra standard action, which is quite a lot better. You can use that standard action for an attack, but you could also use it for other things.

The ki pool feature allows a ninja to expend a ki point for 1 extra attack at their highest BAB during a full-attack. There is no penalty associated with this.

The two-weapon fighting combat option allows you to make one extra attack with an “offhand” weapon, in exchange for a penalty on all attack rolls during that full-attack. The size of the penalty depends on whether or not the offhand weapon is light (the wakizashi is) and whether or not you have the Two-Weapon Fighting feat (you do). In this case, the penalty is −2.

And, of course, you start with a single attack by default.

That means you can make a full-attack, expending a ki point and using two-weapon fighting, to attack three times, all at −2. Two of those attacks must be with separate weapons; the third can be a second attack with either of them (or an attack with a third weapon if you really wanted to like kick or use armor spikes or something like that). After those attacks are finished, you can spend a hero point to get another standard action: you can use that to attack. Since it’s not part of the full-attack where you used two-weapon fighting, it does not take the −2 penalty, and is just made at your ordinary attack bonus.

  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ I would bold extra standard action and a lot better. Great answer. \$\endgroup\$ – ShadowKras Oct 1 '18 at 13:12

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for?Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.