6
\$\begingroup\$

Tiamat can take a Legendary Actions at the end of each turn, and I believe these were listed as reactions. Could an Open Hand Monk's Open Hand Technique prevent these legendary actions entirely?

Per the Way of the Open Hand monk's Open Hand Technique feature:

Whenever you hit a creature with one of the attacks granted by your Flurry of Blows, you can impose one of the following effects on that target:

  • [...]
  • It can’t take reactions until the end of your next turn.

If that is possible, that interpretation seems overpowered - unless the Legendary Actions are NOT reactions (I may be remembering this incorrectly), or the reactions are treated differently because they're Legendary Actions rather than normal Reactions.

\$\endgroup\$
21
\$\begingroup\$

Legendary actions are not reactions

The text for legendary actions follows this format:

[The monster] can take 3 Legendary Actions, choosing from the options below. Only one legendary action can be used at a time, and only at the end of another creature's turn. Spent legendary Actions are regained at the start of each turn.

There is no mention of a Legendary Action constituting a reaction, therefore Open Hand Flurry of Blows cannot prevent them.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Also, if Legendary Actions were reactions, creature with multiple Legendary Actions (like a Lich) would only be able to use one per turn. (which would be weird in term of game design) \$\endgroup\$ – Nahyn - support Monica Cellio Nov 22 at 11:19
7
\$\begingroup\$

No, because Legendary Actions are not Reactions

Legendary Actions are unique to each creature. The general rules do not specify another kind of action - they are their own category. What's important is that they take place outside the creature's normal turn order.

A legendary creature can take a certain number of special actions--called legendary actions--outside its turn. Only one legendary action option can be used at a time and only at the end of another creature's turn. A creature regains its spent legendary actions at the start of its turn. It can forgo using them, and it can't use them while incapacitated or otherwise unable to take actions. If surprised, it can't use them until after its first turn in the combat.

Furthermore, if they were reactions, a creature would be limited to one per turn. Typical creatures have three Legendary Actions per turn, which would make it impossible to use them all if they were reactions.

That said, creatures' statblocks present Actions, special Reactions, and (when available) Legendary Actions under separate headings.

For example:

  • Bandit Captain has Multiattack, Scimitar, and Dagger under Actions, with Parry listed separately under Reactions.
  • Adult Black Dragon doesn't happen to have any special Reactions, and lists Actions and Legendary Actions separately.
\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.