Assuming I do not have access to a second 9th level spell for that day (such as via a Boon, a scroll, or an item), when I cast glyph of warding at a lower level than 9th, can I use wish to supply the second spell?

The key considerations I am thinking about are that if I replicate a spell using wish, that spell is cast using a 9th level slot; that, and the highest level spell that a glyph of warding can store is equal to the level of the spell slot it was cast with.


2 Answers 2


No, for several reasons.

Here's glyph of warding:

You can store a prepared spell of 3rd level or lower in the glyph by casting it as part of creating the glyph...

The first problem is that a spell created via wish is not a prepared spell. (Wish itself is, but it's not the spell you're storing in the glyph.)

The second problem is that you have to actually cast the spell, and wish doesn't cast spells; it duplicates them.

Casting a spell requires performing the components. The rules are fairly emphatic about this:

A spell's components are the physical requirements you must meet in order to cast it... If you can't provide one or more of a spell's components, you are unable to cast the spell.

And specifically for material components:

But if a cost is indicated for a component, a character must have that specific component before he or she can cast the spell. If a spell states that a material component is consumed by the spell, the caster must provide this component for each casting of the spell.

Wish bypasses all of this, including the requirement to provide specific material components, and that's because it doesn't cast the spell. The verb it uses is "duplicate".

The third problem is that wish says that "the spell simply takes effect". But glyph of warding precisely requires the spell not to take effect just yet. It overrides the normal mechanics of casting the spell, but it doesn't override wishing the effect into existence.

  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ As I'm sure you know, it is not agreed upon whether duplicating a spell with wish counts as casting that spell (link). That said, any spell created/duplicated/cast by wish is not a prepared spell, so I think that part of your argument is honestly convincing enough. \$\endgroup\$ Mar 7, 2020 at 18:04
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Medix2 That's an interesting link. Thanks! Though if the duplicated spell is cast via wish (as I think it is), then there's no need for it to be prepared. Glyph of warding only requires that the spell is cast. \$\endgroup\$
    – user62407
    Mar 7, 2020 at 23:37
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Cleric No, glyph of warding says "You can store a prepared spell". \$\endgroup\$
    – Mark Wells
    Mar 8, 2020 at 0:14
  • \$\begingroup\$ @MarkWells What's a prepared spell? I think that needs more elaboration. For example, I believe it's feasible to store a spell from a scroll, a magic item, or an innate racial ability into a glyph of warding, but I dont believe there is a rule that specifically lists these as "prepared spells." Furthermore, that spell is in the bard spell list, and they are not casters who prepare their spells like clerics or wizards, so it can't mean a spell that you prepare in that way. Bards have spells known, not spells prepared. \$\endgroup\$
    – user62407
    Mar 8, 2020 at 5:59
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ The term "prepared" here could be just a plain English word meaning "ready," and if so, having the wish spell might mean every spell of 8th level or lower is prepared for you, as in you are ready to use those spells. \$\endgroup\$
    – user62407
    Mar 8, 2020 at 6:00

Yes you can

Jeremy Crawford tweeted the following.

A spell you duplicate with wish can be cast at a higher level, as long as that level is no higher than 8th.

The wording of Wish for casting other spells is:

The basic use of this spell is to duplicate any other spell of 8th level or lower. You don't need to meet any requirements in that spell, including costly components. The spell simply takes effect.

Glyph of Warding have the following phrase:

Spell Glyph. You can store a prepared spell of 3rd level or lower in the glyph by casting it as part of creating the glyph. [...] If you create a spell glyph, you can store any spell of up to the same level as the slot you use for the glyph of warding.

For example, you can cast Glyph at 5th level, then use Wish to cast Planar Binding, Wish would null the material cost of Planar Binding.

Just remember that Wish can only replicate spells up to 8th level. So you could use your 8th level slot to cast Glyph then use Wish to store any 8th level or lower spell.


You must log in to answer this question.