8
\$\begingroup\$

If a magic item runs on "Magic Batteries", when the item is out of power, would it be treated as a magic item for the purpose of the identify and detect magic spells?

For example, I have a mirror that shows through illusions. It has crystals around it that are destroyed as you used it; you can replace the crystals for more uses when it has no crystals. Would it still be treated as a magic item that is detectable by the identify/detect magic spells?

Would the same be true for items with charges that recharge at dawn? If the item has 0 charges and is not dawn yet, would it be still be treated as a magic item?

\$\endgroup\$
15
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, it is still magical

On the basis that things do only what they say, a magical item remains magical unless there is a rule stating otherwise.

The rules call out several cases where magic items do lose their magic. Here's a sampling (all citations from Dungeon Master's Guide):

Once used, a consumable item loses its magic. (pg. 141)

Once it hits a target, the ammunition is no longer magical. (pg. 150)

Once an arrow of slaying deals its extra damage to a creature, it becomes a nonmagical arrow. (pg. 152)

Doing so ends that pellet's magic. (pg. 166)

If a magic bead is removed from the necklace, that bead loses its magic. (pg. 182)

On a 1, the staff becomes a nonmagical quarterstaff. (pg. 201)

However, many items that can regain their abilities do not include this wording:

The bowl can't be used this way again until the next dawn. (p.g 156)

The cube starts with 36 charges, and it regains 1d20 expended charges daily at dawn. [...] If the cube has insufficient charges remaining, nothing happens. (pg. 156–160)

On a 1, the staff retains its +2 bonus to attack and damage roll but loses all other properties. On a 20, the staff regains 1d8 + 2 charges. (pg. 202)

Many items also call out circumstances under which they are destroyed, in which case there is no longer an item to be magical.

It sounds like your mirror is a homebrew item, in which case the DM is welcome to add a rule stating that the item is nonmagical when without crystals, but this would be a specific exception, not a general rule.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Good last paragraph. Homebrew problems require homebrew solutions. \$\endgroup\$ – Mołot Jun 28 at 10:02

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.