10
\$\begingroup\$

Tasha's Cauldron of Everything introduces the College of Creation which gets the class feature Performance of Creation:

As an action, you can channel the magic of the Song of Creation to create one nonmagical item of your choice in an unoccupied space within 10 feet of you. The item must appear on a surface or in a liquid that can support it. The gp value of the item can’t be more than 20 times your bard level, and the item must be Medium or smaller.

...this isn't a huge deal since there is a gold limit, so the cost of what you could reach is fairly small, but later on the College grants:

Creative Crescendo

[...]

You are no longer limited by gp value when creating items with Performance of Creation.

Could you create expensive nonmagical objects such as a diamond for resurrection magic, or the 500 gp statue for imprisonment? Would it work when casting these spells?

\$\endgroup\$
7
  • 5
    \$\begingroup\$ Now we know where all of those expensive diamonds and rubies come from: DeBard's Gems, Ltd. 😀 \$\endgroup\$ – KorvinStarmast Nov 17 '20 at 15:11
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Item must be medium or smaller and you are no longer limited by GP value is a dangerous combo. Does a 5' cube of sulfuric acid count as a single item? \$\endgroup\$ – RevenantBacon Nov 17 '20 at 15:37
  • \$\begingroup\$ @RevenantBacon is it frozen? If not, it won't remain a 'cube' for much longer. \$\endgroup\$ – KorvinStarmast Nov 17 '20 at 16:37
  • \$\begingroup\$ @RevenantBacon I'd apply general English here. If you go to the store, do you buy "a water", or do you buy "a bottle of water"? Similarly, I'd say "a 5' glass container with sulfuric acid" is one item, whereas 125 cubic feet of acid is not. Otherwise, the ocean might as well also be an item. \$\endgroup\$ – PixelMaster Nov 17 '20 at 17:29
  • \$\begingroup\$ @KorvinStarmast That's the idea :p \$\endgroup\$ – RevenantBacon Nov 17 '20 at 18:51
8
\$\begingroup\$

I would assume that was the intention of the feature, as the similar spell Creation includes this line:

Using any material created by this spell as another spell’s material component causes that spell to fail.

Barring any sort of errata or correction, there doesn't seem to be any RAW reason why a 14th level creation bard can't just magic up the diamond worth 25000gp required for True Resurrection

Update: Crawford has clarified: The Performance of Creation feature in Tasha's Cauldron of Everything can create objects that are usable as the material components of D&D spells, as long as you abide by the limitations in the feature. #DnD https://t.co/iTLTJ2ph3E

— Jeremy Crawford (@JeremyECrawford) December 5, 2020

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.