7
\$\begingroup\$

The Polymorph spell says:

The new form can be any beast whose challenge rating is equal to or less than the target's

Swarm of insects says:

Medium swarm of Tiny beasts

Can a wizard choose the form of a swarm with Polymorph, considering that even though its made up of many creatures it is treated as a single creature with one attack?

\$\endgroup\$
1
13
\$\begingroup\$

No.

Polymorph says:

The new form can be any beast whose challenge rating is equal to or less than the target's

It says "Any beast", not "Any creature". While swarms are indeed treated as single creatures for the purpose of the rules, they are defined as "swarms of tiny beasts", not as a "single beast", and thus not a valid form for Polymorph.

Check the answers on this question about Wild Shape and Swarms to see a similar conclusion for a very similar effect.

\$\endgroup\$
2
  • \$\begingroup\$ Agreed. You can polymorph to one of the swarm, such as one rat, but not a swarm of rats. Fortunately, we don't have any beasts that are considered one entity with multiple bodies (such as some hive minds in other fictional worlds) \$\endgroup\$ – Taejang Jun 2 at 13:48
  • \$\begingroup\$ Related on how many creatures do you need to make a swarm. \$\endgroup\$ – Thomas Markov Jun 2 at 18:05

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.