6
\$\begingroup\$

One of my players is playing a level 5 Echo Knight fighter with the Thrown Weapon Fighting fighting style. Their primary source of damage is their bow. However, they utilize the ability to draw a weapon with the thrown property as part of the attack to make opportunity attacks with their Echo.

When the Echo Knight has their primary weapon (a bow) equipped, can they still use their reaction for an opportunity attack from the Echo's location using a dagger hidden somewhere on their body, and then on their own turn still use their bow as normal?

\$\endgroup\$
6
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Hi Bamischijf! Welcome to RPG.SE! You might want to take the tour if you haven't already, and check out the help center for more guidance. \$\endgroup\$
    – Jack
    Apr 19, 2022 at 9:53
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ I have added the [dnd-5e] tag to your question. If your question isn't about Dungeons and Dragons 5th Edition, please indicate the correct game. Thanks. \$\endgroup\$
    – Jack
    Apr 19, 2022 at 9:54
  • \$\begingroup\$ Do your interpretations not make it clear whether thrown weapons include arrows "thrown" from bows? To me it's clear arrows are not "thrown" as axes, maces, spears or even swords might be… and I accept that's about technique, if not technology. Do you see it differently? \$\endgroup\$ Apr 19, 2022 at 20:20
  • \$\begingroup\$ What makes you think that a weapon can be thrown as part of an opportunity attack (with or without the Thrown Weapon Fighting fighting style)? ...Or are you merely claiming that they're taking advantage of the fighting style's ability to draw the weapon (and even if it's not a ranged attack)? That wasn't clear to me when I first read the question. \$\endgroup\$
    – V2Blast
    Apr 19, 2022 at 21:04
  • \$\begingroup\$ It seems like it may be worth asking a separate question about that part of this post (e.g. "If you have the Thrown Weapon Fighting fighting style, can you draw a weapon with the thrown property as part of the attack you make with it, even if you're not throwing it?"). The rest of your current question relies on the answer to that being "yes", since you can't normally draw a weapon outside of your turn without something like that fighting style. \$\endgroup\$
    – V2Blast
    Apr 19, 2022 at 21:15

1 Answer 1

8
\$\begingroup\$

Rules-as-written, looks like yes.

I'm not sure that it matters that the character is an Echo Knight; the same question would arise for any player with a two-handed ranged weapon and the Thrown Weapon fighting style.

Relevant rules excerpts and references:

Two-handed weapons: PHB, p147

This weapon requires two hands when you attack with it (emphasis mine)

Thrown Weapon Fighting: TCoE, p42

You can draw a weapon that has the thrown property as part of the attack you make with the weapon [no mention that the attack has to be ranged]

Other Activity on Your Turn: PHB, p190. Drawing or sheathing a weapon is explicitly mentioned as something you can do in addition to your action (which is relevant for putting the weapon away before attacking with the bow again).

Opportunity Attacks: PHB, p195:

you use your reaction to make one melee attack against the provoking creature.

It's not specified anywhere that you need to currently be wielding a melee weapon in order to make that attack, just that the attack itself is not ranged.

So, you don't need to hold a bow with two hands when not attacking with it (i.e. outside of your turn), you can draw a weapon with the thrown property as part of an attack whether you're throwing it or not, and you can sheathe the weapon again on your turn before attacking with a bow.

\$\endgroup\$

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .