Linked Questions

3 votes
0 answers
421 views

Does Mass Suggestion spell end if the caster dies? [duplicate]

Unlike regular Suggestion, Mass Suggestion does not require concentration nor does it require the caster to be in particular range after the spell has been invoked. What would happen if the caster ...
MarkP's user avatar
  • 387
1 vote
0 answers
225 views

Does the "damage for disobedience" effect from the Geas spell end when the caster dies? [duplicate]

Situation Some NPCs were under the influence of the geas spell cast by a pair of Lamias. The NPCs were commanded (1) to rebuild some buildings in a town to further the Lamias' evil goals and (2) to ...
KorvinStarmast's user avatar
2 votes
0 answers
198 views

If i die while my chill touch is in effect what happens? [duplicate]

If I cast chill touch on my enemy, it says they can't heal until my next turn. If I am killed before my next turn, I don't have a next turn, so my next turn never happens. Does the chill touch no ...
Tristian's user avatar
  • 4,205
18 votes
4 answers
15k views

What happens to spells (buffs, curses, etc) that are active on you when you die?

Let's say I have a Wizard. I cast mage armor on myself. Nasty kobolds kill me with their traps. Luckily, I have a cleric who (for sake of this question) can cast breath of life, at will. He "raises"...
twicetested's user avatar
5 votes
1 answer
1k views

What happens to the target of a "permanent" True Polymorph spell when its caster dies?

The description of the spell says specifically that after the caster has maintained it's concentration for an hour, the spell can be dispelled. The transformation lasts for the duration, or until ...
Kasper Thystrup Karstensen's user avatar
10 votes
3 answers
2k views

If a creature was flying via the Fly spell and dies, does it continue flying?

The Fly spell states: You touch a willing creature. The target gains a flying speed of 60 feet for the duration. When the spell ends, the target falls if it is still aloft, unless it can stop the ...
Akira_Kurusu's user avatar
  • 1,045
11 votes
2 answers
576 views

If a creature is True Polymorphed into a Wight that uses its Life Drain ability to raise zombies, do they stay controlled if True Polymorph ends?

Say you have a high-level wizard that can cast True Polymorph, and they turn into a Wight. They then use the Wight's Life Drain action, and manage to create a few zombies. Let's assume the Wizard does ...
EChambers89's user avatar
5 votes
1 answer
250 views

When you use the Clone spell, will the command of Undead minions transfer to the clone?

I am currently playing in 5e campaign and a question came up regarding the transferable of command of undead servants. My Necromancer wants to live forever but not be a lich, so naturally the idea is ...
Neopopulas's user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
428 views

After death & reincarnation does a wizard need to recast Find Familiar? Does he or she get the previous one or a 'new' one?

A wizard dies - but his familiar escapes unharmed. He &/or she (the wizard) is Reincarnated, via the spell. He &/or she gains a new race with new abilities. Basic skills, proficiencies, ...
Timm Jimm Grimm's user avatar
-4 votes
2 answers
229 views

Are there rules specifically applicable to water animated by Shape Water found somewhere other than the spell description?

There is a lot of information missing from the second bullet point of the Shape Water spell that it seems to me is essential to running the spell as a DM, and consequently essential to understanding ...
Please stop being evil's user avatar