I want to try playing a multiclass Hexblade 2 / College of Swords Bard 18, but I'm concerned about how focused will work.
I intend to hold a shield in one hand with a sword in the other. Thanks to College of Swords I am able to use the sword as a focus for my bard spells. However, I was hoping that I would be able to cast Shield from my hexblade spell list in the thick of battle.
As Shield requires a Somatic component, would I be able to use my sword hand (which is holding a focus, but for bard spells not warlock spells) to cover the Somatic components of Shield? I know that if it had a Material component I would need an arcane focus, but this situation seems ambiguous to me.
tl;dr Can I use my hand holding a bardic focus to cover the Somatic components for a Warlock spell?
pg. 15 XGtE under Bonus Proficiencies:
If you're proficient with a simple or martial melee weapon, you can use it as a spellcasting focus for your bard spells.
pg. 203 PHB under Material (M):
A spellcaster must have a hand free to access these components, but it can be the same hand that he or she uses to perform somatic components.
This doesn't actually state that materials are required for you to use the a hand holding the material components to perform somatic components.
I was really just hoping to get a response that cited a rule I might have missed (preferably about multiclassing, but such rules in the PHB skip over foci entirely).