Let's use silence, for example. As a ritual, it takes 10 minutes and 6 seconds to cast, using no spell slot. My understanding is that it can be stored in the ring of spell storing being cast as a ritual.

When consuming the stored spell, does the cast have to use the same cast time as was used to put the spell in the ring or do they have to use the non-ritual cast time, or can they choose?

up vote 29 down vote accepted

Storing a spell in the ring requires the use of a slot

From the description of the Ring of Spell Storing, this is not immediately obvious but it does state that:

The level of the slot used to cast the spell determines how much space it uses.

Fortunately, Jeremy Crawford has clarified this in a series of tweets:

Armando Doval‏ @armando_doval

@JeremyECrawford can you cast a spell into a Ring of Spell Storing without expending a slot? Description seems to assume slot is used.

Jeremy Crawford @JeremyECrawford

Casting a spell into a ring of spell storing does require a spell slot. #DnD

AdventuresInLethargy @theactualevan

I guess ritual casting into a spell storing item is out too, then?

Jeremy Crawford @JeremyECrawford

Correct

Uri-AHH!‏ @Panoramic_Panda

Can you cast a spell into a Ring of Spell Storing from a wand?

Jeremy Crawford @JeremyECrawford

It requires a spell slot. A wand doesn't expend a spell slot.

So this means that any method that does not use a spell slot can't be used to store spells in a ring of spell storing.

  • 1
    Nice find! It's the slot level that matters, not the spell level. Which makes sense for upcasting, too. – NautArch Oct 17 at 14:06

Your Answer

 

By clicking "Post Your Answer", you acknowledge that you have read our updated terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy, and that your continued use of the website is subject to these policies.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.