For an attack to successfully hit a given Armor Class, would it need to get a number higher than the Armor Class? Or does it hit if the total exactly equals the Armor Class value as well?

Does the answer to this question change depending on what type of attack it is?


From the PHB section on Attack Rolls, emphasis added:

If the total of the roll plus modifiers equals or exceeds the target's Armor Class (AC), the attack hits.

  • 6
    \$\begingroup\$ The mnemonic that I sling around is "Ties go to the roller." \$\endgroup\$
    – goodguy5
    Dec 11 '18 at 14:56
  • 5
    \$\begingroup\$ Or as I just heard in Role-playing Games Chat: "Tie goes to the die." or "die wins tie" \$\endgroup\$
    – Rubiksmoose
    Dec 11 '18 at 18:27
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ Or, if you want an equivalent to "equals or exceeds": "meets or beats". \$\endgroup\$
    – V2Blast
    Dec 11 '18 at 19:02
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ I call ACs and DCs the 'target number'. You succeed if you hit the target. \$\endgroup\$ Dec 17 '19 at 16:15
  • \$\begingroup\$ Unless you rolled a natural 1. Even if you equal or beat the AC it doesn’t matter. But I assume most people know that. \$\endgroup\$ Aug 24 '21 at 19:40

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .