3
\$\begingroup\$

Situation:

A dagger is thrown at a monk. On that attack, the dagger multiplies into 2 or 3 daggers in mid-air, each dagger with its own rolls for attack and damage. The daggers move one after another such as a line like:

— — —

As a reaction to that one Attack action, can a monk use Deflect Missiles to deflect all of those projectiles, since all of them were thrown on a single Attack action and will be arriving simultaneously?

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Comments are not for extended discussion; this conversation has been moved to chat. \$\endgroup\$ – mxyzplk Apr 19 at 21:22
7
\$\begingroup\$

No, the monk cannot deflect them all. The magic dagger is making three separate attacks.

Each attack roll is a separate attack. The dagger is essentially performing the same mechanic as the extra attack class feature for the player. Deflect missiles can only handle a single missile from a single attack.

Starting at 3rd level, you can use your reaction to deflect or catch the missile when you are hit by a ranged weapon attack. When you do so, the damage you take from the attack is reduced by 1d10 + your Dexterity modifier + your monk level.

The question is a magical item powered re-hash of: Does deflecting missiles work against multiple missiles at once?

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Might also be worth bolding "a ranged weapon attack" - the reaction is used on one such attack, not multiple. \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Apr 19 at 19:09
  • \$\begingroup\$ @V2Blast thanks. That also jogs my memory about thrown weapons not being ranged weapon attacks. \$\endgroup\$ – GcL Apr 19 at 19:15
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ Actually, thrown weapons are ranged weapon attacks. They're just (mostly) made with melee weapons. From weapon properties: "Thrown. If a weapon has the thrown property, you can throw the weapon to make a ranged attack. If the weapon is a melee weapon, you use the same ability modifier for that attack roll and damage roll that you would use for a melee attack with the weapon." Basically, almost every attack is either a melee or ranged attack, and either a weapon or spell attack. They are ranged weapon attacks. \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Apr 19 at 19:17
  • \$\begingroup\$ @V2Blast I thought the ruling was daggers, spears, and javelins were not ranged weapons. \$\endgroup\$ – GcL Apr 19 at 20:56
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ They aren't ranged weapons; they're melee weapons used for ranged weapon attacks. \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Apr 19 at 21:03

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.