3
\$\begingroup\$

At 14th level, Stone Sorcerers (from Unearthed Arcana: Sorcerer) get the Stone's Edge feature, which states:

When you cast a spell that deals damage, choose one creature damaged by that spell on the round you cast it.

Does this work with cantrips, or is it exclusive to 'leveled' spells only? Also, if I use booming blade and thunderous smite in one attack, does the Stone's Edge ability stack?

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ The Stone Sorceror was deprecated with the release of Xanathar’s Guide to Everything. \$\endgroup\$ – nick012000 Jul 30 '19 at 5:26
10
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, Stone's Edge affects Cantrips

If the feature did not affect Cantrips, it would expressly say so.

Starting at 14th level, your mastery of earth magic allows you to add the force of elemental earth to your spells. When you cast a spell that deals damage, choose one creature damaged by that spell on the round you cast it. That creature takes extra force damage equal to half your sorcerer level. This feature can be used only once per casting of a spell.

Stone's Edge, Unearthed Arcana: Sorcerer

Yes, Stone's Edge can affect multiple spells

There's no language stating this damage may only be dealt once per turn, so it must be able to be applied to both spells.

|improve this answer|||||
\$\endgroup\$
2
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, it works with cantrips

There is no qualifier for the Stone Sorcerer's Stone's Edge so it applies to all spells, both cantrips and level 1+.

Stacks with Booming Blade

The only limits you have from Stone's Edge are:

When you cast a spell that deals damage, choose one creature damaged by that spell on the round you cast it. That creature takes extra force damage equal to half your sorcerer level. This feature can be used only once per casting of a spell.

In this case, you have cast two spells that affect the same creature. You can apply the Stone's Edge to both.

But something is weird

It's unclear what "can be used only once per casting of a spell" means. It's likely that this is protect against Quickening a spell to get it twice, but it's something to consider for other combos you may have in mind.

|improve this answer|||||
\$\endgroup\$
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ I believe the "can be used only once per casting of a spell" is very clear about the fact that damaging spells that last longer than a round would not get this bonus on subsequent rounds ... like Witch Bolt would only get the bonus damage on the round it was cast. I mean, an additional precision since it also specifies "on the round you cast it". \$\endgroup\$ – Catar4 Jul 29 '19 at 20:56

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.