5
\$\begingroup\$

Can the Skald's Armour power be used to make a creature attack itself?

Power Daily (Immediate Interrupt)
Trigger: An enemy targets you with a melee attack.
Effect: The triggering enemy instead targets a creature of your choice adjacent to you.

Full details at DDI.

\$\endgroup\$
7
\$\begingroup\$

If it's adjacent to you, yes.

It just targets "a creature of your choice adjacent to you". If it was intended to exclude the triggering foe it would say, "another creature of your choice adjacent to you" (or, as mentioned by doppelgreener below, "an enemy... other than the attacker"). I would imagine that the power was deliberately written to include the triggering foe so that it could be used when only a single foe was attacking you in melee.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Another power in the PHB2, Deflecting Thunder (p36), says: "... instead targets an enemy adjacent to you other than the attacker." (As far as I can find, Skald's Armor and Deflecting Thunder are the only powers of their kind.) \$\endgroup\$ – doppelgreener Aug 30 '15 at 1:25

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.