39
\$\begingroup\$

As the title says: Is a 1st-level spell cast using a 4th-level slot a 1st-level spell, or a 4th-level spell?

\$\endgroup\$
3
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Gonna show this to my group the next time they say that their Dispel Magic should've automatically ended a spell ordinarily of a lower level that was cast at a higher slot \$\endgroup\$
    – Tophandour
    Nov 2 '16 at 17:45
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Tophandour just remember this was not the case in 3.5 - they have a reason to think what they think. It may be a habit, not ignorance or neglect. \$\endgroup\$
    – Mołot
    Nov 3 '16 at 11:14
  • \$\begingroup\$ Right. We still have a couple things of that sort floating around that we're trying to get rid of. \$\endgroup\$
    – Tophandour
    Nov 3 '16 at 11:29
69
\$\begingroup\$

The spell is a 4th level spell. (PHB, p.201)

Casting a Spell at a Higher Level

When a spellcaster casts a spell using a slot that is of a higher level than the spell, the spell assumes the higher level for that casting. For instance, if Umara casts magic missile using one of her 2nd-level slots, that magic missile is 2nd level. Effectively, the spell expands to fill the slot it is put into.

\$\endgroup\$
10
  • \$\begingroup\$ Is there any difference between a spell that "can" be casted as higher level (for extra damage, more targets, etc) with a spell that you cast using a higher slot? I mean, you can use your level 9 slot to cast a level 1 spell that it will not be more powerful for doing this. When it comes to Dispel o Counter for example, is this the same thing, right? \$\endgroup\$
    – Kelhendros
    Nov 8 '16 at 19:47
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Kelhendros Any spell can be cast using a higher level slot, and some spells gain specific benefits from it. \$\endgroup\$
    – Miniman
    Nov 8 '16 at 21:38
  • \$\begingroup\$ Actually only any spell that uses a slot can be cast using a higher level. And only some of those gain benefit from it. You can't up cast cantrips or spells from items.. \$\endgroup\$
    – Rubiksmoose
    Jan 23 '18 at 1:55
  • \$\begingroup\$ However they would still get the additional protection from Dispel Magic and Counterspell for having used the higher level slot. \$\endgroup\$
    – illustro
    Mar 28 '19 at 10:13
  • \$\begingroup\$ @illustro Though upcasting does not penetrate Globe of Invulnerability, strangely enough. \$\endgroup\$
    – T.J.L.
    Mar 29 '19 at 13:04
36
\$\begingroup\$

4th.

PHB Page 201 says

When a spellcaster casts a spell using a slot that is of a higher level than the spell, the spell assumes the higher level for that casting.

\$\endgroup\$

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .