12
\$\begingroup\$

I read this question about other PCs using pact weapons and realized that I'm not sure if the weapon would use the warlock's Charisma, or the other character's Strength/Dexterity for attack and damage rolls.

Now, the text of Hex Warrior says "when you attack with that weapon you can use your Charisma modifier..." Am I right in assuming that another character that uses the weapon (a barbarian, say) would use their ability scores, rather than the warlock's Charisma?

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the tour if you haven't already, and check out the help center for more guidance. Are you asking about the Pact of the Blade feature's pact weapon, or the weapon(s) associated with the Hexblade's Hex Warrior feature (which says it also applies the same benefits to your pact weapons)? It looks like you're specifically asking about the latter, though your title mentions pact weapons in particular. \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Apr 24 at 22:57
22
\$\begingroup\$

You're right: only the Hexblade can benefit from their own Hex Warrior feature

It's simply stated in the text you quoted - when you attack with the affected weapon, you can use your charisma bonus. The Hex Warrior feature doesn't say anything about what happens when someone else uses a Hexblade's weapon, so the normal rules must apply and they would use their appropriate ability score as usual when making attacks with the weapon.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.