Lets say the group's Great Weapon Fighter and Bladelock have their weapons confiscated. Can the Warlock call his pact weapon and, assuming it is the type of weapon the Fighter uses mostly, give it to the Fighter for the Fighter to use in combat?

The rules say the pact weapon disappears if it is more than 5 feet away from the summoner for more than 1 minute. During this time can the Fighter use it?

  • 5
    \$\begingroup\$ This is also a great idea when fighting enemies with resistance to non-magical weapons if your fighter friend doesn't have one yet. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Dec 18, 2015 at 15:36
  • \$\begingroup\$ @DerekStucki That comment might be worth appending to your answer. Up to you. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Feb 24, 2020 at 14:29

1 Answer 1


Yes, other characters can wield it (within limits)

You cited the only relevant rule in your question. The warlock would have to either be within 5 feet of the weapon every minute, or resummon it frequently, but the passage quoted clearly allows the weapon to be away from the warlock for plenty of time to be useful in the hands of someone else.

  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ To add, 1 minute equals 10 turns of melee. \$\endgroup\$
    – Escoce
    Commented Dec 18, 2015 at 16:34
  • 13
    \$\begingroup\$ @Escoce I think the exact wording would be "1 minute equals to 10 rounds of melee", as each creature has a turn in said rounds. \$\endgroup\$
    – Meta4ic
    Commented Dec 18, 2015 at 20:24
  • \$\begingroup\$ ...now I find myself thinking about how to cheese that. Is there any way to have the resulting weapon benefit further from invocations? \$\endgroup\$
    – Ben Barden
    Commented Apr 27, 2017 at 19:36

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .