Linked Questions

64
votes
9answers
17k views

The fastest way to remove bones from a man

I'm likely going to be playing a human necromancer in an upcoming return to our Out of the Abyss campaign. My character is morally "scrambled" at the best of times, and has no qualms about raising the ...
36
votes
7answers
6k views

Scaring a wyrmling into adulthood

If a dragon wyrmling were repeatedly subjected to ghosts using Horrifying Visage over a week, would it grow into a young or even adult dragon? Horrifying Visage: [...] If the save fails by 5 or ...
22
votes
7answers
8k views

Can a Mimic mimic another creature?

A mimic is a fun monster, and essential in any good Dungeon. As you look around the room, your eyes immediately fall on a large, ornate chest, sitting on a small plinth, a faint beam of sunlight ...
16
votes
5answers
4k views

Can you cast polymorph on a dead thing?

Can you polymorph a dead creature? If so, would the wounds sustained by the target's original form appear on the polymorphed form? A possible scenario would be you're hunting a stag on the king's ...
25
votes
4answers
6k views

What is considered an object?

In the PHB, on page 193, the Use an Object action is described: Use an Object You normally interact with an object while doing something else, such as when you draw a sword as part of an ...
11
votes
2answers
3k views

What happens if you feed a potion to a dead (not unconscious) creature?

What happens if you feed a potion to a dead (not unconscious) creature? Specifically, could you shrink a corpse by force feeding it a Potion of Dimunition? My gut says there's a reason potions ...
19
votes
2answers
2k views

If a Druid sees an animal’s corpse, can they Wild Shape into that animal?

The Druid’s Wild Shape feature says: you can use your action to magically assume the shape of a beast that you have seen before. However, if a Druid sees the creature’s corpse, can they turn into ...
10
votes
4answers
37k views

What does carrying capacity do in combat?

Does a good carrying capacity have benefits in combat, besides how much you can carry? For example, does it give advantage on picking things up or grappling?
11
votes
4answers
7k views

What are the rules around picking up and carrying bodies?

Suppose that a PC wants to pick up an unconscious or dead body in a battle and carry it: What kind of action is it to pick it up? Does it take a whole action or can it be done as a "free object ...
6
votes
2answers
1k views

Can a creature be True Polymorphed into a corpse and then raised?

Inspired by If a corpse is polymorphed into a creature, does it retain personality? True Polymorph can turn a creature into an object Creature into Object. If you turn a creature into an object, ...
12
votes
2answers
2k views

Can Mending be used to reattach severed body parts?

Corpses are considered objects, and the Mending cantrip can do the following: This spell repairs a single break or tear in an object you touch, such as a broken chain link, two halves of a broken ...
10
votes
2answers
592 views

Can Simulacrum make a (living) duplicate of a dead creature, by RAW?

This is for a fairly absurd situation in which a party member (the cleric) has died and neither of the others can resurrect him, but one of the surviving party members is a wizard that can cast ...
9
votes
2answers
952 views

If a corpse is True Polymorphed into a creature, does it retain personality?

True polymorph can turn a creature into another creature. When it does so, the creature "retains its alignment and personality", although its other statistics change. However, true polymorph can also ...
5
votes
1answer
2k views

Can you use Sending on a dead creature?

So I'm playing a D&D 5e campaign and my character is a 8th level cleric. One of the 3rd level cleric spells is sending. It states: You send a short message of twenty-five words or less to a ...
9
votes
2answers
782 views

Does dying cause a creature explicitly to drop to zero hit points?

The typical way to die involves dropping to zero hit points first. But if something such as Power Word Kill, kills a creature instantly, is it specified in the rules that the creature “drops to zero ...

15 30 50 per page