14
\$\begingroup\$

Counterspell states:

You attempt to interrupt a creature in the process of casting a spell. If the creature is casting a spell of 3rd level or lower, its spell fails and has no effect.

This wording suggests that a successful counterspell interrupts the spell, causing it to fail.

The Mage Slayer feat (PHB, p. 168) states:

When a creature within 5 feet of you casts a spell, you can use your reaction to make a melee weapon attack against that creature.

This text seems to say that you only get the attack if the creature finishes casting the spell.

If a spell is counterspelled, does it still count as a spell cast for the purpose of Mage Slayer's reaction attack?

The answers to this question seem to suggest yes, but unlike many other interrupts, counterspell does actually prevent the spell from being cast, so it's a bit unclear.

\$\endgroup\$
21
\$\begingroup\$

Yes.

The important part is in the description for counterspell:

You attempt to interrupt a creature in the process of casting a spell. If the creature is casting a spell of 3rd level or lower, its spell fails and has no effect.

Emphasis added by me to point out that you aren't preventing the spell from occurring with counterspell- you are preventing it from succeeding. The action is still used, the spell slot is still gone- and Mage Slayer doesn't care whether the spell actually works, you can still attack as a reaction.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Interestingly the casting of counter spell itself would trigger Mage Slayer if there was an enemy with the feat within 5' of the person casting counter spell. \$\endgroup\$ – Protonflux Sep 29 '17 at 15:31

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.