5
\$\begingroup\$

As it only says, in the Savage Worlds Pathfinder book, if you roll a 1 on both a skill and wild die, does that mean you can't critical fail an attribute roll and hence can reroll with a Bennie? Or does the standard rule book take precedence?

\$\endgroup\$

2 Answers 2

2
\$\begingroup\$

New answer for the much-revised question.

Partial Quote

What my copy of Pathfinder for Savage Worlds says is (page 118):

A Critical Failure occurs when a Wild Card rolls a 1 on both the skill die and Wild Die of a Trait roll.

There are two noteworthy punctuation notes. First, "skill" is lower-case, indicating a common word and not a rules term (per the Pinnacle Style Guide). Second, the statement includes "Trait roll", which is a rules term that includes both Attributes and Skills.

Therefore, Critical Failures can happen on Attribute rolls when playing Pathfinder for Savage Worlds.

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • \$\begingroup\$ normally I would agree but there are other text difference between SWADE and SWPF, and in these cases they have been deliberate changes. \$\endgroup\$
    – Bucket
    Jul 5, 2022 at 13:28
7
\$\begingroup\$

Misquote

If that was what the rules said then that would be the case. But the rules do not say that.
Savage Worlds, page 88, Critical Failure:

A Critical Failure occurs when a Wild Card rolls a 1 on both the Trait die and Wild Die of a Trait roll.

Trait is a technical term that includes both Skills and Attributes.

\$\endgroup\$
3
  • \$\begingroup\$ ah - i was looking in the SWPF book - may be I should change my question. \$\endgroup\$
    – Bucket
    Jul 5, 2022 at 9:00
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ You may want to look for errata for your copy of PFSW - that text is supposed to be identical. If you're using a pdf, download the most recent version. \$\endgroup\$
    – ValhallaGH
    Jul 5, 2022 at 11:30
  • \$\begingroup\$ just looked in the my hard copy and the latest 1.7 version of the pdf and on page 118 it still says 'skill'. I also checked the latest v6.0 pdf of SWADE page 88 it says 'trait'. \$\endgroup\$
    – Bucket
    Jul 5, 2022 at 13:26

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .