Questions tagged [critical-failure]

For questions about critical failures (sometimes called "critical fumbles"), a mechanic in various RPGs in which results of actions which not only fail to meet their goal, but also hamper the doer of the action or their allies. Some examples of such mechanics include rolling natural 1s on some d20-based systems, or rolling a Despair in the Star Wars FFG system.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
1
vote
1answer
214 views

How can I convert GameMastery's Critical Fumble Deck for use in 5e?

I'm a DM for 5e. I found my dad's old Critical Fumble Deck, and was wondering how I can adapt this for 5e, since it's 3.5 compatible. How can I convert GameMastery's Critical Fumble Deck for use in ...
5
votes
1answer
1k views

Are there any consequences of a Critical Failure on attack rolls?

At "Attack rolls" on page 446 of CRB I could not find anything. For generic weapon attack rolls, is there a difference between Failures and Critical Failures?
7
votes
2answers
1k views

Do these rules for Critical Successes and Critical Failures seem fair?

I'm thinking about implementing the following houserules at my table to try to bring back the concept of "Critical Successes" by piggybacking off the Advantage/Disadvantage system. Critical Success ...
12
votes
1answer
2k views

If a character with the Alert feat rolls a crit fail on their Perception check, are they surprised?

A Druid in my campaign has the Alert feat, which stops her from being surprised. If she rolls a critical failure on her Perception check, would: She get surprised because she crit-failed? The ...
21
votes
10answers
3k views

How can the probability of a fumble decrease linearly with more dice?

I'm working on a simplified RPG system that uses only D6s, and I want a mechanic for fumbles/critical fails. Depending on how good the player character is, they have 1-5 dice to roll and they have to ...
47
votes
6answers
9k views

After successfully hitting with an attack roll, when rolling for damage, if you roll a 1, is that a negative crit?

Our dm is treating our "1" damage rolls as a natural 1. So when you roll a 1d4 and you do 1 dmg (after succeeding hit dice) we get an especially bad outcome. Is this normal procedure?
8
votes
1answer
594 views

Once a Character exceeds Wound Threshold, do they gain a new Critical Injury each time they take damage?

Edge of the Empire Core Book, Pg 215 : Exceeding Wound Threshold When a PC suffers wounds greater than their wound threshold, they are knocked out and incapacitated until their wounds are reduced ...
4
votes
1answer
2k views

If you roll a natural 1 for a skill check, is that a critical failure? [duplicate]

Or do you just add your bonus like it was any other number? I'm asking because of another question about traps and how easy it is to find them at mid to high level. My first thought was that a ...
4
votes
1answer
564 views

Can you roll a critical failure on a single action where you roll multiple skill dice?

A normal Trait roll involves only 2 dice for a Wild Card, and thus the rule for Critical Failures is described as: snake-eyes (double 1s) on one of these rolls is a critical failure (SW Deluxe 63)...
3
votes
1answer
301 views

Savage Worlds - Firing into close combat…and missing

While working my way through the combat rules the need to shoot into close combat came up. The attacker, a Human with a Smith and Wesson .357 (2d6+1) wanted to shoot a frogman who has just Stunned ...
3
votes
0answers
89 views

What was the first game to have an explicit “worse than failure” rule? [duplicate]

These days it's not uncommon for systems to have a rule, explicitly stated, in the rulebooks as an "optional" rule, or commonly house-ruled in, where a sufficiently bad roll of the dice not only ...
41
votes
2answers
69k views

Is a critical failure on a natural 1 a rule or house rule?

There's a question about this relating to 3.5e, but I couldn't find one for 5e. According to RAW, is a natural 1 a critical failure? And if so, under what scenarios does it apply, and what is the ...
20
votes
1answer
24k views

If you roll a 1 on a saving throw against a damage spell, do you take extra damage?

For example: Fireball Each creature must make a DEX saving throw. A target takes 8d6 fire damage on a failed save, or half as much damage on a successful one. If a target caught in the fireball ...
18
votes
3answers
8k views

Does rolling a 1 with Advantage cancel out the higher roll?

Probably a simple question with a simple answer: When a player has Advantage - rolls twice and one is a 1, does this critical fail overrule the advantage roll?
21
votes
7answers
2k views

Do all RPGs have critical failures, and which was the first?

In all the games I remember playing, critical failures have always, in every case triggered an event. This critical failure is due to exceptionally bad rolls on dice, either a 'natural one' in DnD or ...
16
votes
1answer
9k views

Do the automatic success and failure rules apply to skill checks?

We had a rule check tonight that we couldn't answer. On the Pathfinder wiki I could only find info on natural 20s and 1s in regards to attack rolls and saves in combat. Do they also apply to skill ...
6
votes
6answers
3k views

How can I handle critical failure without slowing down the action?

In my last session, my group had in a single encounter over 8 botches, I lost count in fact! At first, I was statistically amazed at how our ranger botched 4 rounds in a row (in-game interpretation ...
10
votes
1answer
203 views

Cortex rules: critical failures

The Cortex rules say (and I'm paraphrasing from memory) that critical failures happen when all the dice are 1's. Is this all the dice, or just the stat and skill? If I have an asset that adds a die, ...