New answers tagged

-1

For reference, let's start with unpacking the blinded condition in D&D 5e: A blinded creature can't see and automatically fails any ability check that requires sight. Attack rolls against the creature have advantage, and the creature's attack rolls have disadvantage. The first clause that states you can't see is kind of obvious but the second part of ...


2

They should go through character creation as normal, though either of your first two bullet points will be fine I've never run a Hunter game, but have a fair bit of experience with Vampire: the Masquerade which is relevant to this issue. My textual support, specific to preludes, is the prelude section of the VtM 20th Anniversary core rulebook (pages 352-354)....


-3

My reading would be no. 5E is very simple in that it clearly states, you get what things say. You don't infer and you don't read between the lines. No Racial change, no sub race, no different ability modifiers. You don't get to add or change your base HPs to the MM Doppelganger's, you don't get the special attacks, and you don't get it's immunities. Your ...


2

Your true form is Doppelgänger. Unfortunately, this is not explained clearly in the secret’s brief description in Chapter 1, nor in the more detailed description in Appendix B. The description in appendix B speaks of your "true form": I can polymorph into any humanoid I have seen or back into my true form. My initial trouble in parsing this ...


0

In the rules for creating new races the Humanoid type states: Every humanoid creature also has a subtype to matchits race, such as human, giant, goblinoid, reptilian, or tengu. If you are making a new humanoid race, you should either find an existing sutype to match or make a new one by using the name of the race as the subtype. If you are making a half-...


9

Yes, the Doppelganger secret removes racial traits for the presenting race. Frostmaiden p. 14 states under "Character Secrets" that a player can draw a new secret "if the [first] secret is a bad fit for the character," implying that the secret is superimposed onto the character. If so, this secret would remove the PC's previously-defined ...


5

When the rules for the Hunter's animal companion say If a character receives an animal companion from more than one source, her effective druid levels stack for the purposes of determining the companion’s statistics and abilities. they mean that instead of getting a second animal companion, your levels stack to determine the abilities of your first animal ...


7

What you describe No. The Beast Speaker feat does not add a second animal companion. It extends the list that you can choose to include certain Magical Beast. Specifically, Benefit: You can select a creature from the list of magical beasts to serve as your animal companion. Not as another animal companion, or as a Cohort (which also doesn't do what you ...


1

There are things correct and incorrect in these comments. For a monk, weapon fall into one of three categories; Weapons you are not proficient in, and thus gain no proficiency bonus. Simple weapons and shortswords (ranged and melee simple) - the monk has proficiency. Monk weapons, shortswords and any simple melee weapons that don’t have the two-handed or ...


3

The 4th-level cleric spell Olidammara's bard spell [trans] (Dragon #342 (Apr. 2006) 42), in part, says Casting this spell allows you to prepare and cast a limited number of bard spells as if they were cleric spells. Each casting of Olidammara's bard spell lets you prepare up to three levels of Bard spells (these cannot be combined to prepare Bard spells ...


7

The Variant Human optional rule includes the following text (Player's Handbook pg. 31): Skills. You gain proficiency in one skill of your choice. It is a skill of your choice, it can be any skill from the skills list regardless of what you have chosen as your class.


2

The Variant Human optional rule includes the following text (Player's Handbook pg. 31): Skills. You gain proficiency in one skill of your choice. It is a skill of your choice, it can be any skill from the skills list regardless of what you have chosen for your class.


15

With the Variant Human Traits option, you get to choose one skill of your choice, period. The D&D 5e PHB on p. 31 states: Skills. You gain proficiency in one skill of your choice. That is the end of the description of this option. If there were meant to be a restriction to your character's class list of skills, it would say so. But the text mentions ...


2

Beastmaster ranger The Beastmaster Ranger (PHB, no UA variants) is a martial character that must work off of one weapon attack, assuming you're going to use your beast as more than a glorified familiar. You can optimize by making that single attack hit as hard as possible. Assuming a character with +4 DEX, +3 Proficiency, Archery fighting style, and Extra ...


10

The relevant rules are here: https://2e.aonprd.com/Rules.aspx?ID=587 It looks like you're looking for this text: If you choose, you can allow the player to instead start with a lump sum of currency and buy whatever common items they want, with a maximum item level of 1 lower than the character’s level. This has a lower total value than the normal allotment ...


3

The gestalt rules come from Unearthed Arcana, a collection of open-content variant ideas that Wizards of the Coast threw together and called a book. Some of them were written by Wizards of the Coast staff, others were published elsewhere as open content, and so on. Most importantly, they are often closer to ideas for how to vary your game, than they are ...


2

Gestalt variant rules are in the Unearthed Arcana handbook, page 72. And no, there is no such rule that prohibits you from changing the "side" of the classes. Also worth noting, template classes are variant rule too, and they are not contemplated in the gestalt rules, they could be argued to be similar to prestige classes, which could prohibit you ...


6

The answer is yes - both feats together allow you to mix and match any property of your normal form and the fish form you would normally assume. This allows for mermaids, as well a fish with legs or any other weirdness which can be derived from mix and match the two forms. In addition, the Beast Tamer HB will soon contain additional errata for the Aquan TF, ...


Top 50 recent answers are included